University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

People

Jill Wegrzyn

Jill Wegrzyn

Degrees

PhD, Information Systems and Technology, CGU/UC San Diego
Concentration: Bioinformatics

MS, Computational Science, SDSU San Diego
Concentration: Bioinformatics

BS, Animal Science/Computer Science, UC Davis

Contact

Email: jill.wegrzyn@uconn.edu

unnamed

Postdoctoral Researchers

Uzay

Uzay Sezen

Degrees

PhD, Ecology and Evolutionary Biology, UConn
MS, Biological Sciences, METU Turkey
BS, Biological Sciences/Plant Biology, METU Turkey

Research Interests

Population genetics, genomics and transcriptomics of trees.

Fun Facts

Wants to heal the planet with daily dosage of nature documentaries.

Contact

Email: uzay.sezen@uconn.edu

unnamed

Nic Herndon

Degrees

PhD, Computer Science, KSU
MS, Computer Science, UNR
BS, Computer Science, UNR

Research Interests

Big data, machine learning, bioinformatics, and computational biology.

Fun Facts

Enjoys traveling on and off the beaten path, and learning about different cultures.

Contact

Email: nic.herndon@uconn.edu
Website: http://nic-herndon.uconn.edu/

 

Graduate Students

Alex

Alexander Hart

Degrees

MS, Biomedical Engineering, UConn
BSE, Biomedical Engineering, UConn

Research Interests

Bioinformatics, gene therapy, biosignal processing, applying programming/computational analysis to biology.

Fun Facts

Enjoys watching movies, listening to music, skateboarding, and playing guitar. Can also play the ukelele!

Contact

Email: alexander.hart@uconn.edu

141fdf5e-0fde-4762-8197-ad4cdeedb346

Sumaira Zaman

Degrees

BS, Biomedical Engineering, UConn

Research Interests

Bioinformatics/computational biology, metabolic disorders, cancer biology, neuroscience (brain mapping).

Fun Facts

Listens to music in different languages including Japanese, Turkish, Arabic, German, and more!

Contact

Email: sumaira.zaman@uconn.edu

unnamed

Nasim Rahmatpour

Degrees

MS, Plants Systematics, UT Iran
BS, Biology, SBU Iran

Research Interests

Plants evolution, mosses, transcriptomics and genomics of mosses (Funaria hygrometrica).

Fun Facts

Enjoys playing volleyball and painting.

Contact

Email: nasim.rahmatpour@uconn.edu

thumbnail_IMG_20140718_124657

Qiaoshan Lin

Degrees

BS, Bioinformatics, SUSTC China

Research Interests

Bioinformatics, computational biology, genomics.

Fun Facts

Enjoys painting and watching movies!

Contact

Email: qiaoshan.lin@uconn.edu

Undergraduate Students

Alexander Trouern-Trend

Undergraduate

Molecular and Cell Biology
Minor in Chemistry

Research Interests

Genetic engineering, computational genomics, computational chemistry, and conservation ecology.

Fun Facts

Is a birdwatcher and a musician.

Contact

Email: alexander.trouern-trend@uconn.edu

Peter Richter

Undergraduate

Computer Science and Engineering

Minor in Economics

Research Interests

Computational biology.

Fun Facts

Likes to ski and sail. Learning to skateboard.

Contact

Email: peter.richter@uconn.edu

Madison Caballero

Undergraduate

Molecular and Cellular Biology

Research Interests

Immunology, genetic diseases, microbiology, genomics, and astrobiology.

Fun Facts

Loves political science, cleaning, comedy, and international travel.

Contact

Email: madison.caballero@uconn.edu

Eliza Baker

Undergraduate

Nursing

Research Interests

Bioinformatics and genetic diseases.

Fun Facts 

Loves to go birding and is on the UConn Equestrian Team.

Contact

Email: eliza.baker@uconn.edu

 

Staff

Emily

Emily Grau

TreeGenes Lead Database Administrator

Degrees

BS, Cell Biology, UC Davis

Research Interests

Open science, genetics, and databasing.

Fun Facts

Interested in social justice, food, and obscure trivia. Loves Star Trek!

Contact

Email: esgrau@gmail.com

buehler

Sean Buehler

TreeGenes Database Developer

Degrees

BS, Computer Science, CCSU

Research Interests

Computer science and bioInformatics.

Fun Facts

Enjoys cycling and Minecraft.

Contact

Email: sean.buehler@uconn.edu
Website: http://midspin.net/Home/

Taylor Falk

Bioinformatics Developer

Degrees

BS, Environmental Science, UConn

Research Interests

Machine learning, data management, and data visualization.

Fun Facts

Frequent dungeon master. Has a pet snake.

Contact

Email: taylor.falk@uconn.edu
Website: http://www.taylorfalk.com/

Alumni

Erik

Eric Visser

Graduate Student (Jan 2014-Mar 2014)

Tianjiadeng

Tianjiadian Feng

Graduate Student Intern (Aug 2014-Mar 2015)

Andrew

Andrew Brown

Undergraduate Intern (Jan 2014-Aug 2014)

Ethan

Ethan Baker

Undergraduate Intern (May 2014-Aug 2014)

Sowmya

Sowmya Kuruganti

Undergraduate Intern (Aug 2014-Dec 2014)

Jeanne

Jeanne Whalen

Graduate Student (May 2014-May 2015)

Kevin

Kevin Pratt

Undergraduate Intern (Jan 2015-Aug 2015)

Sam

Sam Ginzburg

Undergraduate Intern (Aug 2014-Jan 2016)

IMG_9163

Steven Demurjian Jr.

Undergraduate Intern (June 2015-May 2016)

Kewa

Kewa Jiang

Undergraduate Intern (Nov 2015-May 2016)

Robin

Robin Paul

Postdoctoral Scholar (Sep 2014-May 2016)

Daniel

Daniel Gonzalez-Ibeas

Postdoctoral Scholar (June 2014-June 2016)

Michael Wynne

Undergraduate Student Intern (Aug 2016-Apr 2017)

DSCN0894

Gaurav Sablok

Postdoctoral Scholar (Aug 2016-Jan 2017)

imanbatra

Iman Batra

Graduate Student Intern (May 2016-Jan 2017)

Anvin Thomas

Undergraduate Student Intern (Aug 2014-Jun 2017)

Clayton Michael

Undergraduate Student Intern (Jun 2017-Sep 2017)